How to use the simulator

Jan 20, 2010 at 10:15 AM

Can someone give me a user manual to use the simulator I am new to Racal HSM. 

Coordinator
Jan 20, 2010 at 3:12 PM

As mentioned in the project frontpage:

What would one need to use this library?
A good level of understanding of the Thales HSM is essential. Knowledge of VB.Net and Visual Studio 2008 is also recommended, but any person that attempts to use the library without knowing how the Thales HSM works does not stand any real chance of making good use of the library.

I never got around creating any serious documentation, apart from the source code comments which are pretty complete but don't really help end-users. In order to understand how the simulator works, you would need to know how a Thales HSM works. In order to do that, you need to gain access to the Thales guides.

Jan 21, 2010 at 8:39 AM

I have comipled the HSM in .net and depolyed it. If you could tell me what is the process I need to do to connect to the HSM it will be helpfull.

Coordinator
Jan 21, 2010 at 3:40 PM

You need to open a socket and connect to the simulator's port (default value is 9998 if you haven't changed ThalesParameters.xml). You then build a command message and send it to the simulator, which responds back. All messages are preceeded by a 2-byte software header that holds the length of the message data (excluding the length of the header itself).

Jan 22, 2010 at 12:06 PM

Can you provide me with sample message with hex and binary format. This will help me code.

Coordinator
Jan 22, 2010 at 4:39 PM
Edited Jan 22, 2010 at 4:43 PM

Sure, try sending 0000BU0200406FBB23A5214DF. Don't forget to start with the 2-byte software header.

Mar 3, 2010 at 11:43 AM

HI

Thanks for the help I am now able to generate Keys. Does the simulator support PIN Veriification and PIN Translation command. Which commands does it support ?

Thanks

Saji Pillai

Coordinator
Mar 3, 2010 at 5:05 PM

The following PIN verification commands are supported: