BuildIn Host Commands

Nov 28, 2011 at 11:29 AM

Thank you for the work on this project, this is a great piece of software. I have the simulator and PVVClashing demo running in Visual Basic Express 2010. I now want to write my own code to generate Visa CVV & PVV's. However, I get an exception error when I try and instantiate a new object from the BuildIn Host Command Class. Maybe I don't inderstand exactly what to do as I am not a great programmer and there is no example of using the buildin commands (expect in the core tests which I can not run because it needs Visual Studio). Help will be appreciated. If I insert this line into the PPVClashing demo I get the same error:

Private Sub cmdFindAllPINs_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles cmdFindAllPINs.Click

Me.Enabled = False

Try
            thales = New TCP.WorkerClient(New Net.Sockets.TcpClient(txtIPAddress.Text, Convert.ToInt32(txtPort.Text)))
            thales.InitOps()
            Dim HC As New HostCommands.BuildIn.HSMStatus_NO
        Catch ex As Exception
            doLog("Connection error (" + ex.Message + ")")
            Me.Enabled = True
            Exit Sub
        End Try

txtLog.Text = ""

The Exception Error:

{"The given key was not present in the dictionary."}

Coordinator
Nov 28, 2011 at 11:58 AM

Don't sweat it, the code is pretty straight-forward but it's normal to struggle with it when using it for the first time.

The most probable cause of this would be that you haven't called the StartUp() method of ThalesMain. This sets up some stuff, amongst which is a resources store used to keep parameters. All commands use the resources store so the problem is most likely a command going there for some parameter and the store doesn't have it.

Nov 28, 2011 at 1:41 PM