Import CVK pair

Jun 30, 2011 at 6:31 AM

Hi,

I've been struggling with this for a bit and don't know what more I can do so I'm hoping somebody here can help me. I am totally new to the HSM 8000 world, and what I'm trying to achieve is to import a CVK pair int the HSM. I would know the plaintext A and B components but don't know how I can import them into the HSM 8000.

Can somebody please help me?

Coordinator
Jun 30, 2011 at 10:33 AM

Is this a production environment? You should not have the clear values of the CVKs. How where the CVKs generated?

Jul 4, 2011 at 11:12 AM

Well that is the point I have the plaintext values that should be used as component A and B for tha CVK pair and I want to import that key into HSM 8000 and use it for generation and validation of CVV values. I have done this on nCipher HSM's but thigs are different on HSM 8000. Those CVV values will be used in 3D Secure environment and will not be generated with the keys used to generate CVV values that are found on the card.

Coordinator
Jul 4, 2011 at 2:42 PM

Can you try the "Encrypt Clear Component" console command (EC)? The key type for CVKs is 402. Use that and verify with the key check value generated by the console command.

Jul 7, 2011 at 8:37 AM

Nick thanks for the tip, I thought that the same command set is used through the console, my oversight. Well I tried to use the EC command and it seems to successfuly encrypt the key components. But when I try to check if the generated check value is correct using CK command I keep getting an 'Key parity error' message. I have checked the components I'm importing and they have odd parity but this message persists. What could be causing this error?

Coordinator
Jul 7, 2011 at 8:50 AM